Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

More in this area:


For Braille, large print or audio please contact us. If you would like a paper copy of any of the information on our website, please contact us and we will provide this for you free of charge

Welburn Hall School Governing Body

Meeting Dates 2017


FGB meeting dates for 2017 / 2018

26th September 2018

7th November 2018

12th December 2018

6th February 2019

13th March 2019

8th May 2019

5th June 2019

10th July 2019


All meetings to start at 5.00pm


Core functions of the Governing Body

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. Holding the head teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.


Detailed information is available in the DfE Governance Handbook


Constitution of the Governing Body

The constitution of the Governing Body is:

  • Two Parent Governors         
  • One Staff Governor
  • Headteacher
  • One LA Governor
  • Seven Co-opted Governors
  • Associate Members

Click here to download Instrument of Government

The register of interests tab provides information about each governor’s business interests, financial interests and governance roles in other schools, together with their date of appointment, the committees on which they serve and their attendance.



In certain key areas, the Governing Board has delegated its statutory duties or responsibilities to the following committees.  Each committee has its own terms of reference:

  • Pay Committee
  • Headteacher's Performance Management Committee
  • Complaints Committee
  • Staffing and Appeals Committee
  • Pupil Discipline Committee


Minutes and further information can be obtained from the Clerk to Governors (NYCC Clerking Service),

Our Governors

Parent Governors 

Laura Walker is experienced in the care sector and is a trustee at Ryedale Special Families. She currently works with deaf pupils in a mainstream school

Gillian Locker – experienced teacher and parent

Staff Governor 

Rachel Marr is the Care Team Leader


Marianne Best is the Headteacher

Co-opted Governors 

Paul Aber is a solicitor and brings personnel, legal and professional governance expertise to the Governing Body

Michael Garrod has a lot of estate management expertise and knowledge about health and safety issues. He is currently Vice Chair of Governors

Sarah Barker is the Lead teacher of Vocational Studies

Vacancies - if you are interested, please get in touch

Associate Members

Catherine Barr is the Head of Education


Additional Governors

Dr Susan Morgan – Co Chair

Rev Alan Payne – Co Chair

Cookie Policy

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.

Do you accept?